Log in

Oregon Spirit Book Awards 2017

Picture Books

  • Winner: Mark Fearing – Giant Pants
  • Honor: Barbara Herkert – A Boy, a Mouse, and a Spider (Lauren Castillo, illustrator)
  • Honor: Judy Sierra – Imagine That!: How Dr. Seuss Wrote The Cat in the Hat (Kevin Hawkes, illustrator)

Middle Readers

  • Winner: Emily Winfield Marton – Snow & Rose

Young Adult

  • Winner: Emily Suvada – This Mortal Coil
  • Honor: Laini Taylor – Strange the Dreamer
  • Honor: Fonda Lee - Exo

Graphic Novel

  • Winner: Mike Lawrence – Star Scouts


  • Winner: Patricia Bailey – The Tragically True Adventures of Kit Donovan


Established in 2005, the Oregon Spirit Book Award is given yearly to the author of a distinguished contribution to children’s literature or young adult literature that engages and encourages readers’ imagination, discovery, and understanding, reflecting the spirit and values held by Oregonians. Priority to texts that present:

  • Respectful portrayals of diverse populations
  • Tolerance of various individual and cultural perspectives
  • Peaceful, innovative, and equitable solutions of conflicts
  • Respect for ecosystems and environmental sustainability


  • Books published in the U.S. in a calendar year, January to December are eligible for the award the following year. (Self-published books will not be considered.)
  • Oregon author.
  • All formats of books are eligible: picture books, chapter books, graphic novels, and electronic books.
  • Both fiction and nonfiction in any genre.
  • English is one of the languages.

There may be up to three awards each year, maximum of one winner from each of three categories as follows:

  • Picture Books (PK-grade 3)
  • Middle Reader (grades 4-7)
  • Young Adult (grades 8-12)
  • In addition, up to two honor books may be named in each category.

If submissions warrant, special category winners may be designated in other genres such as nonfiction, graphic novels, anthology, and/or debut novel.

Note that there may be some overlap in age/grade categories.

We currently have six members on the review committee.


People are invited to nominate books by sending titles and books by May 1 of each year to:


Oregon Spirit Book Award

c/o Karen Johnson, OSBA Co-chair

19930 SW 59th Terrace

Tualatin, OR 97062

There are six committee members.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software